English
Visitor online

techne_T Techne

The Theatre of the Long Now is the promise to stage a contiuous performance over at least 100 years on an urban wasteland in Stuttgart. Since its was founded by an unknown landscaper from Stuttgart in 2014, the theatre’s activities took place completely unrecognised by outsiders. The Theatre of the Long Now is both an installation and a performance:

It has no roof, but an ensemble. It is an institution, but it’s not legally registered. It has an audience, but neither human nor non-human beings will ever witness the whole play. The Theatre of the Long Now is very slow performance art…

In 2017, Ferl+Hertel and Bureau Baubotanik have been named artistic directors of the Theatre of the Long Now for the 2017 season, developing its programme through performative and botanical-architectural interventions. As part of Techne, the Theatre of the Long Now will host performances, festivities, and activities, in response to the evolution of the project.

Countless protagonists act within the Theatre of the Long Now; an emphasis lies on the ground, various institutions, plants, metal parts, and a turtle, as well as a young and an old human. Weather and limited resources, solidarity and political decisions are going to shape the prospective course of its performance. The end of the play is already planned for 2114 – currently the management is discussing a possible extension.

The next performance at the Theatre of the Long Now will take place on Friday 21 July.

The Theatre of the Long Now is a Techne-production in cooperation with Kunstverein Wagenhalle e.V.

 

Theatre of the Long Now

Alice Ferl, Bureau Baubotanik, Stine Hertel

aliceferl, bureaubaubotanik, stinehertel

17/04/25 Published

English
Besucher online

techne_T Techne

Das Theatre of the Long Now ist das Versprechen, auf einer Brachfläche in Stuttgart eine mindestens 100 Jahre andauernde Aufführung stattfinden zu lassen. Gegründet 2014 von einem unbekannten Stuttgarter Landschaftsarchitekten, fand der Theaterbetrieb bislang für Außenstehende vollkommen unsichtbar statt. Das Theatre of the Long Now ist Installation und Vorstellung zugleich:

Es hat kein Dach, aber ein Ensemble. Es ist eine Institution, aber nirgendwo rechtlich erfasst. Es hat Zuschauer, aber weder ein Mensch noch ein Tier wird je die ganze Aufführung erleben. Das Theatre of the Long Now ist sehr langsame Aktionskunst …

Im Jahr 2017 wurde die künstlerische Leitung und Geschäftsführung des Theaters an Ferl+Hertel und Bureau Baubotanik übergeben, die der Institution mit performativen und baubotanischen Eingriffen zu neuer Sichtbarkeit verhelfen werden. Über die Dauer der Produktionsplattform Techne wird das Theatre of the Long Now immer wieder mit Schriftbeiträgen, Aktionen und Festivitäten auf sich aufmerksam machen und durch sein Wachstum ein eigenes Profil formen.

Im Theatre of the Long Now gibt es unzählige Protagonisten; besondere Erwähnung müssen momentan der Boden, verschiedene Institutionen, Pflanzen, Metall und eine Schildkröte erfahren, sowie mindestens ein junger und ein alter Mensch. Wetter und Kostendruck, Solidarität und politische Entscheidungen werden zukünftig den Verlauf seiner Aufführung mitbestimmen. Das Ende der Aufführung ist bereits für das Jahr 2114 geplant – die Leitung diskutiert momentan über eine mögliche Verlängerung.

Das Theatre of the Long Now ist ein Projekt von Ferl+Hertel und Bureau Baubotanik auf dem Areal der Wagenhallen Stuttgart. Es entsteht innerhalb der Produktionsplattform Techne in Kooperation mit dem Kunstverein Wagenhalle e.V.

Theatre of the Long Now

Alice Ferl, Bureau Baubotanik, Stine Hertel

#uraufführung, aliceferl, bureaubaubotanik, spielzeiteröffnung, stinehertel, theatreofthelongnow

17/04/25 Veröffentlicht